Indigo in the Rain

December 18, 2010

It’s a rainy Saturday, the gray and blue of my surroundings have inspired me to the indigo vat.  This is a French linen for the designer Heidi Iverson.  We are collaborating on Fibershed projects, and this dye work is apart of our trading process.  I have dipped her dress a couple of times so far, and was moderately happy with the results.  I dip the garment 1/3 at a time, due to the size of the vat, and the quantity of linen.  As I keep re-dipping, the blues are deepening, and the variegation lines are becoming more pronounced.  It’s a beautiful process to say the least.

The dress hangs above the forest floor– which is graced with a native sedge that I have yet to identify, but am so in love with.  The creek was running full this morning, I awoke to the sound of water pouring over rocks– when I went outside the air temperature was surprisingly warm.  It is such a blessing to be in the forest, and watch the water absorb into the soil, grass, and creeks.

The little creek that runs through the land, making an abrupt turn just before the house.  I am settling into my new home, becoming familiar with the new climate, the plant life, the fauna.. it is an inspirational environment; from which I intend to create many beautiful colors to share with you as the season progresses…

4 Responses to “Indigo in the Rain”

  1. kel Says:

    my indigo plants frm the seeds you sent are doing well… looking forward to some big plants! that looks just lovely , i love linen with a passion. merry christmas!

  2. Lance Says:

    That looks so beautiful! I hope you post a pic or two of the finished dress. I have just moved to a new town on the sunshine coast of south africa and can’t wait to get our indigo vat going . There are so many inspiration in the natural environment . Thank you for being a real source of inspiration

    • ecologicalartist Says:

      I’m almost done with the dress.. had to let the vat ferment for a few days, it exhausted itself with all that linen.


Leave a comment